Board of Statutory Auditors

In accordance with Article 17 of the By-laws, the Board of Statutory Auditors is composed of three regular auditors and three alternates, all of whom must be entered in the Register of Auditors and have at least three years of experience as a statutory account auditor. They may, within the legal limit, also hold other positions as director or statutory auditor.

In accordance with Legislative Decree 58/1998, Article 17 of the Company’s By-laws establishes the right for appropriately constituted minority groups to appoint one regular auditor, who serves as Chairman, and one alternate. The By-laws also establish that the minimum equity interest required for submission of a list of candidates for elections of the Statutory Auditors may not be lower than the percentage required by law for elections of the Board of Directors. The lists presented, together with the documentation required by law and the Company’s By‑laws, must be placed on record at the Company’s registered office at least 25 days prior to the date set for the General Meeting on first call.

On 4 April 2012, the Board of Statutory Auditors was elected using a voting list system.

The Statutory Auditors are: Ignazio Carbone, Chairman; Lionello Jona Celesia and Piero Locatelli, regular auditors; and Lucio Pasquini, Fabrizio Mosca and Corrado Gatti, alternate auditors. The regular auditors Lionello Jona Celesia and Piero Locatelli were elected from the list presented by the majority shareholder EXOR S.p.A. and Ignazio Carbone, Chairman of the Board of Statutory Auditors, was elected from the minority list presented by a group of Italian and international asset managers and institutional investors holding 1.86% of shares (a complete list of those shareholders is provided in the Annual Report on Corporate Governance). The minimum equity interest required to submit a list of candidates was 1% of ordinary shares, as established by Consob with reference to Fiat’s average market capitalization for the fourth quarter of 2011. Additional information provided to Shareholders on the candidates and lists presented are available in the Investors section of the Group website (

The Board of Statutory Auditors’ current term of office expires on the date of the General Meeting called for approval of the 2014 financial statements. Following is a list of the most significant positions held by the members of the Board of Statutory Auditors. Ignazio Carbone is a director of Banca Popolare del Frusinate S.c.p.a. and Enertronica S.p.A.; Lionello Jona Celesia is Chairman of the Board of Statutory Auditors of Giovanni Agnelli e C. S.a.p.A., IBM Italia S.p.A., Lazard S.r.l., statutory auditor of ASTM S.p.A. and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Banca del Piemonte S.p.A.; Piero Locatelli is a statutory auditor of Giovanni Agnelli e C. S.a.p.A. and Simon Fiduciaria S.p.A.